Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation


Exhibition / upcoming:

Two Rivers: Joachim Brohm / Alec Soth

NRW-Forum Duesseldorf

28 March - 7 July 2019

Curator / Concept: Ralph Goertz

 

Two photographers, two rivers: The exhibition "Two Rivers" presents the most important photographic works by the German artist Joachim Brohm and the American photographer Alec Soth. In a world premiere, the exhibition unites works from a total of eight series, including Alec Soth's main work "Sleeping by the Mississippi" and Joachim Brohm's famous "Ruhr" series.

 

 

"This exhibition is sensational"

Helga Meister, Westdeutsche Zeitung

 

Ralph Goertz, Alec Soth, Joachim Brohm

 

"Curator Ralph Goertz, head of the IKS, has once again succeeded in presenting a contemporary photography exhibition that presents young classics of modern photographic art." The institute is not afraid to spread  familiar positions, offering not only considerable works - a total of ten photo groups - but also individual photographs. that have not been shown yet."

Achim Lettmann, Westfälischer Anzeiger

 

"Two Rivers" in dialogue with "Ohio" by Joachim Brohm

 

"Ohio", Joachim Brohm

 

"A few years ago, curator Ralph Goertz had already given a forum to New York photographer Joel Meyerowitz in Dusseldorf and celebrated great successes by inviting Minneapolis-based photographer Alec Soth to an exhibition. Goertz presents their works on blue painted walls mixing the "Sleeping By The Mississippi" series with Brohm's "Ruhr" into a flow of images. Is that Brohm or Soth? Essen-Kettwig or New Orleans?"

 

"In fact, the works are always in symbiosis. The borders are blurring."

Klas Libuda, Rheinische Post

 

"Two Rivers" in dialogue with "Ohio" by Joachim Brohm

 

Introdution text on "Two Rivers" and the series "Ohio" by Joachim Brohm

 

The exhibition focuses on Alec Soth's series "Sleeping by the Missisippi" and Joachim Brohm's series "Ruhr", which portray people on the periphery of the river. Brohm, who studied at the Folkwang Hochschule, is a visual artist who expresses himself with the medium of photography. Soth is a lyrical documentary photographer in the tradition of Robert Frank, Stephen Shore and Michael Schmidt.

 

Frankie, Fort Jefferson Memorial Cross, Wickliffe, Kentucky © Alec Soth / Magnum Photos

 

Essen. 1982 © Joachim Brohm / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

 

"The Mississippi, that is Huckleberry Finn, is raft and adventure, the Ruhr, that is simple: area. The show at the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf smoothly unites the association that the photo series by Joachim Brohm and Alec Soth are meandering works of art even if there are almost 20 years and one continent between the ranks."

Britta Heidemann, Westfalenpost

 

"Paradis" by Joachim Brohm in dialogue with the "Two Rivers"

 

"Paradis" by Joachim Brohm in dialogue with the "Two Rivers"

 

"What connects the two artists is a documentary-artistic view that identifies them as sensitive documentarians of their social environment."

Ralph Goertz, curator

 

Bochum, 1983 © Joachim Brohm / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

 

Ste. Genevieve, Missouri © Alec Soth / Magnum Photos

 

The exhibition brings together a total of ten groups of works by the two photographers. Alongside the well-known series "Ruhr" and "Ohio" by Joachim Brohm and "Sleeping by the Mississippi", "Niagara" and "Songbook" by Alec Soth, the exhibit also presents Joachim Brohm's rare work "Flash Ohio" for the first time next to "Tokio, 2015" by Alec Soth.

 

"Misty, 2005" by Alec Soth in dialogue with the "Two Rivers"

 

"Niagara", Alec Soth

 

"Two Rivers" and "Songbook"

 

"Songbook", Alec Soth

 

"Flash Ohio", Joachim Brohm

 

Joachim Brohm and Alec Soth discussing the neue series "Flash Ohio" by Joachim Brohm

 

Ralph Goertz, curator of the exhibition, worked on the concept for a total of two years. In addition to the dialogical integration of the TWO RIVERS, the challenge was also the integration of the further groups of works of the two photographers.

 

"Like cities along the rivers, the works by Joachim Brohm and Alec Soth are always in dialogue with the TWO RIVERS."

Ralph Goertz, curator

 

Joachim Brohm explains curator Ralph Goertz the specifics of his analogue prints from the late 70s

 

Joachim Brohm observing the hanging

 

"Dessau Files", Joachim Brohm

 

"Culatra", Joachim Brohm

 

Joachim Brohm

is a visual artist who expresses himself trough the medium of photography. Since the 1980s he had a huge influence to establish photography as an art form in Germany. In his first internationally acclaimed series "Ruhr" (1980-1983) he documented the leisure behavior of people on the banks of the Ruhr. Brohm belongs to the photographers of the Düsseldorf photo school and is one of the most important photographic artists in Germany. In his often documentary-oriented works, he deals with the structures of urban development and the urban periphery - with all its social, sociological, economic and cultural implications. He was artistically trained and influenced at the Folkwang Hochschule in the tradition of Otto Steinert and Michael Schmidt, but also through his Fulbright scholarship at Ohio State University, where he studied photography with Allan Sekula.

 

Joachim Brohm at his Studio in Leipzig

 

Gelsenkirchen, 1982 © Joachim Brohm / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

 

Alec Soth

Since his first major work "Sleeping by the Mississippi" in 2004, Alec Soth has been recognized as one of the most important photographers on the international photographic scene. He is a visual artist, magnum photographer, blogger, publisher and educator. Soth explores the different forms of the media of photography and how they present themselves in the world. As a lyrical documentary photographer - in the tradition of Robert Frank, Stephen Shore and Michael Schmidt - Soth sees himself primarily as an American photographer. The landscapes of the United States, the majestic Mississippi, the thundering Niagara Falls, the vast and open deserts, the small towns and suburbs: all have created the structure and setting for his poetic studies of American life.

 

Alec Soth during a shootings in Grand Rapids

 

Charles, Vasa, Minnesota © Alec Soth / Magnum Photos

 

Catalogue with texts by Vince Leo, Wolfgang Ullrich and Ralph Goertz. Published by Koenig Books, London

 

The design of the new catalogue was developed by the IKS - Institute for Art Documentation.

 

Catalogue "Two Rivers. Joachim Brohm / Alec Soth"

 

Exklusive Edition "Essen, 1982" by Joachim Brohm

 

Joachim Brohm. Essen, 1982

 

In Occasion of the exhibition "Two Rivers. Joachim Brohm / Alec Soth" at the NRW-Forum Duesseldorf, the IKS will publish an exclusive Edition of his work "Essen, 1982" from his international best known series RUHR.

Available as an Edition of 100 + 10 a.p. (numbered and signed)

Paper size: 40x50cm / Photo size: 26x32cm

Prize: € 540,- including VAT, plus shipping and package

Passepartout and Frame on request.

 

We are looking forward to your email request!

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation


Ausstellung:

Two Rivers: Joachim Brohm / Alec Soth

NRW-Forum Düsseldorf

28.03. - 07.07.2019

Kurator / Konzept: Ralph Goertz

 

Zwei Fotografen, zwei Flüsse: Die Ausstellung „Two Rivers“ präsentiert die wichtigsten fotografischen Werkgruppen des deutschen Künstlers Joachim Brohm und des US-Amerikanischen Fotografen Alec Soth. In einer Weltpremiere vereint die Ausstellung Werke aus insgesamt acht Serien, unter anderem Alec Soth’ Hauptwerk „Sleeping by the Mississippi“ und Joachim Brohms berühmte „Ruhr“- Serie.

 

 

"Diese Ausstellung von Joachim Brohm und Alec Soth im NRW-Forum ist sensationell"

Helga Meister, Westdeutsche Zeitung

 

Ralph Goertz, Alec Soth, Joachim Brohm

 

"Kurator Ralph Goertz, Leiter des IKS, ist einmal mehr eine zeitgenössische Fotoausstellung gelungen, die junge Klassiker moderner Fotokunst präsentiert. Das Institut scheut sich nicht, bereits bekannte Positionen auszubreiten, bietet dabei neben beträchtlichen Werken – insgesamt zehn Fotogruppen – aber auch einzelne Fotografien, die bisher noch nicht gezeigt wurden."

Achim Lettmann, Westfälischer Anzeiger

 

"Two Rivers" im Dialog mit "Ohio" von Joachim Brohm

 

"Ohio", Joachim Brohm

 

"Vor einigen Jahren hatte Kurator Ralph Goertz bereits dem New Yorker Fotografen Joel Meyerowitz in Düsseldorf ein Forum gegeben und damit große Erfolge gefeiert. Nun hat er den aus Minneapolis stammenden Fotografen Alec Soth für eine Ausstellung eingeladen. Auf blau gestrichenen Wänden hat Goertz dessen Arbeiten aus der „Sleeping By The Mississippi“-Reihe mit Brohms „Ruhr“ zu einem Bilderfluss vermischt. Ist das nun Brohm oder Soth? Essen-Kettwig oder New Orleans? So rätselt man manchmal."

 

Tatsächlich gehen die Arbeiten immer wieder eine Symbiose ein. Die Grenzen verschwimmen."

Klas Libuda, Rheinische Post

 

"Two Rivers" im Dialog mit "Ohio" von Joachim Brohm

 

Einleitungstext zu "Two Rivers" und die Serie "Ohio" von Joachim Brohm

 

Im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung stehen Alec Soth’ Serie „Sleeping by the Missisippi“ und Joachim Brohms Serie „Ruhr“, die beide Menschen an der Peripherie des Flusses porträtieren. Brohm, der an der Folkwang Hochschule studierte, ist bildender Künstler, der sich mit dem Medium der Fotografie ausdrückt. Soth steht als lyrischer Dokumentarfotograf in der Tradition von Robert Frank, Stephen Shore und Michael Schmidt.

 

Frankie, Fort Jefferson Memorial Cross, Wickliffe, Kentucky © Alec Soth / Magnum Photos

 

Essen. 1982 © Joachim Brohm / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

 

"Der Mississippi, der ist Huckleberry Finn, ist Floß und Abenteuer. Die Ruhr, die ist schlicht: Gebiet. Und doch gießt das Düsseldorfer NRW-Forum die Assoziation so geschmeidig in eins, dass die Fotoserien von Joachim Brohm und Alec Soth zum mäandernden Gesamtkunstwerk werden – auch wenn fast 20 Jahre und ein Kontinent zwischen den Reihen liegen."

Britta Heidemann, Westfalenpost

 

"Paradis" von Joachim Brohm im Dialog mit den "Two Rivers"

 

"Paradis" von Joachim Brohm im Dialog mit den "Two Rivers"

 

"Was die beiden verbindet, ist ein dokumentarisch-künstlerischer Blick, der sie als sensible Dokumentaristen ihres sozialen Umfeldes ausweist."

Ralph Goertz, Kurator

 

Bochum, 1983 © Joachim Brohm / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

 

Ste. Genevieve, Missouri © Alec Soth / Magnum Photos

 

Die Ausstellung versammelt insgesamt zehn Werkgruppen der beiden Fotografen, neben den bekannten Serien "Ruhr" und "Ohio" von Joachim Brohm und "Sleeping by the Mississippi, "Niagara" and "Songbook" von Alec Soth, werden zum ersten Mal auch Joachim Brohms seltene Porträts "Flash Ohio" und "Tokio" von Alec Soth gezeigt.

 

"Misty, 2005" von Alec Soth im Dialog mit "Two Rivers"

 

"Niagara", Alec Soth

 

"Two Rivers" und "Songbook"

 

"Songbook", Alec Soth

 

"Flash Ohio", Joachim Brohm

 

Joachim Brohm und Alec Soth diskutieren über die neue Serie "Flash Ohio" von Joachim Brohm

 

Insgesamt zwei Jahre hat Ralph Goertz, Kurator der Ausstellung, am Konzept gearbeitet. Neben der dialogischen Verflechtung der TWO RIVERS, bestand die Herausforderung auch in der Integration der weiteren Werkgruppen der beiden Fotografen.

 

"Wie Städte entlang der Flüsse liegen die Werkgruppen von Joachim Brohm und Alec Soth immer im Dialog mit den TWO RIVERS."

Ralph Goertz, Kurator

 

Joachim Brohm erläutert Kurator Ralph Goertz die Besonderheiten der analogen Prints aus Ende der 1970er Jahre

 

Joachim Brohm während des Kontrollierens der Hängung seiner neuen Arbeiten

 

Ansicht der "Dessau Files"

 

"Culatra", Joachim Brohm

 

Joachim Brohm

ist bildender Künstler, der sich mit dem Medium der Fotografie ausdrückt und maßgeblich an der Entwicklung der Fotografie als Kunstform seit den 1980er Jahren beteiligt war. In seiner ersten, international viel beachteten Serie „Ruhr“ (1980-1983) dokumentierte er das Freizeitverhalten der Menschen am Ufer der Ruhr. Brohm gehört neben den Fotografen der Düsseldorfer Fotoschule zu den wichtigsten Fotokünstlern in Deutschland. In seinen oft dokumentarisch geprägten Arbeiten setzt er sich vor allem mit den Strukturen der Stadtentwicklung und der Stadtperipherie - mit allen sozialen, soziologischen, ökonomischen und kulturellen Implikationen - auseinander. Künstlerisch ausgebildet und geprägt wurde er an der Folkwang Hochschule in der Tradition von Otto Steinert und Michael Schmidt, aber auch durch sein Fulbright Stipendium an der Ohio State University, an der er Fotografie bei Allan Sekula studierte.

 

Joachim Brohm in seinem Studio in Leipzig

 

Gelsenkirchen, 1982 © Joachim Brohm / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

 

Alec Soth

gehört seit seinem ersten Hauptwerk „Sleeping by the Mississippi“ aus dem Jahre 2004 zu den wichtigsten Fotografen der internationalen Fotoszene. Soth ist bildender Künstler, Magnum-Fotograf, Blogger, Verleger und Pädagoge. Er erforscht die vielen verschiedenen Formen der Fotografie und wie sie sich in der Welt präsentieren. Als lyrischer Dokumentarfotograf - in der Tradition von Robert Frank, Stephen Shore und Joel Sternfeld - sieht sich Soth in erster Linie als amerikanischer Fotograf. Die Landschaften der USA, der majestätische Mississippi, die donnernden Niagarafälle, die weiten und offenen Wüsten, die kleinen Städte und Vororte: Alle haben die Struktur und den Rahmen für seine poetischen Studien über das amerikanische Leben geschaffen.

 

Alec Soth während eines Shootings in Grand Rapids

 

Charles, Vasa, Minnesota © Alec Soth / Magnum Photos

 

Katalog mit Texten von Vince Leo, Wolfgang Ullrich und Ralph Goertz ist bei Koenig Books, London erschienen.

 

Das IKS - Institut für Kunstdokumentation hat das Design des Katalogs (Herausgeber: Ralph Goertz) zur Ausstellung entwickelt.

 

Katalog "Two Rivers. Joachim Brohm / Alec Soth"

 

Exklusive Edition "Essen, 1982" von Joachim Brohm

 

Joachim Brohm. Essen, 1982

 

Anlässlich der Ausstellung "Two Rivers. Joachim Brohm / Alec Soth" im NRW-Forum Düsseldorf erscheint eine signierte Edition der Arbeit "ESSEN, 1982" aus der Serie RUHR, mit der Joachim Brohm auch international Anerkennung fand.

Auflage: 100 + 10 a.p. (nummeriert und signiert)

Blattmaß: 40x50cm / Bildmaß: 26x32cm

Preis: € 540,- inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versand und Verpackung

Passepartout und Rahmen auf Anfrage.

 

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage per email!

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram